share this page

Lync Navigation

Lync Navigation

 

Sign In

When starting up Microsoft Lync, your machine will automatically sign you in, depending on your options settings which is covered in the Options section. If it doesnt automatically run, go to your Microsoft Lync programs folder and click on microsoft Lync 2010 and should start up. To sign in, put in your staff CIT email into the sign-in address box and click the Sign in button.

 

 

Lync Window

After you enter your sign–in address and logged in successfully, you will arrive onto your own personal Lync window. Here you can see your display picture, contacts list, options, status and the different groups of contacts. On the top right hand side of your Lync window is the Show menu which is the little arrow pointing down next to the options icon (Cog wheel). Show menu gives you the options to do the following:

  1. Sign out of lync.
  2. Change your status
  3. View recieved files
  4. View conversation history
  5. Show Menu Bar
  6. Exit out of Lync

Lync Icons

 

Status

All your contacts on your contact list will have a colour coded box next to them, signifying their status. Next to your contacts will also display a timer, letting you know how long that contact has been away for or how long they been offline for. Next to your portrait picture on the top, you can set your own status as well. All you do is hover over the show menu which looks like a little arrow pointing down on the top right hand corner of the window. It’ll indicate the Show Menu once you hover your cursor on it. Once the cursors on it, click and follow the path File/My Status/ and it will give you a list of status to choose from. Selecting any of these statuses will then let your contacts on their end, know where you stand. You can also set your status by clicking the arrow beside your portrait, below your name and setting the status.

Contacts

When you want to communicate with people in your contact list, there are several ways to do so. As mentioned in the Lync Introduction section, there’s instant messaging, VOIP or video chat. You can select any of the recipients in your list by clicking on them or typing into the find a contact field box. In CIT, you add recipients by entering in their CIT email adresses.

This field box can also be used to search for new contacts you wish to add. When the person you want to find comes up, it’ll give you the following options:

  • Pin to Frequent contacts
  • Add to new group
  • Add to contacts list (Plus symbol on the right of the recipients name)
This is how you add new users to your list or organise groups and contact list. To remove people from your contacts list just right-click the contact you want to remove, and then click Remove from Contacts List.

 

IM (Instant Messaging)

When communicating with people on your contact list, select your intended contact or group and do the following steps

  • In the lync window, in the contact list, double click the contact with whom you want to IM. A conversation window opens.
  • At the bottom of the conversation window, type your message and then press enter to send it.
  • After pressing enter, the person on the other end will receive your message and should reply eventually. While talking to your contact through text, you can ring them by clicking on Call


 

Invite other people to conversations

When in a conversation with someone and you want to invite another contact, go to your conversation window, and click the People Options menu, which is located to the top right of the window.

Select Invite by name or phone number, click the intended contact you wish to add and then click ok.

 

View your IM (Instant Message) conversation History: Every time you talk to a contact, Lync saves your IM conversation history. To view your previous conversations go to Conversations icon just above your search box, here it will display your conversation history. To access your conversation history, double click on it.
To Delete or Remove items form your IM conversation history, right click the instant message and click Delete Conversation.
To Disable go to options and click on personal and clear the checkbox for Save instant message conversations in my email Conversation History folder.

Voice

In your Contacts list or search results, point to the contact, and then click the Call button and then click on lync call. Another way in calling them is by double clicking on your contact and clicking Call underneath their portrait picture.

 

Conference call: To start a conference call with a few members of your contact, right click on your contact and select Start a conference call. If you want to select multiple contacts to start a conference call, hold CTRL on your keyboard which is located on the bottom left and select each participant.

Add another person to the call: If you’re already in a conversation with another contact, you can add another recipient by selecting the peoples option (Top right) of the window and selecting Invite by Name or Phone number..

Call Controls: In the conversation window, during a lync call, use the call controls to do any of the following.

Video

If you have a webcam set up, you can share video with your contacts by clicking on video and selecting Start a video call. If you receive a video call from one of your contacts, in the notification, click Accept to see and hear your caller.

 

Share a Program

  • If you ever want to share a PowerPoint presentation, program, new whiteboard or start a new poll, you can click on Share
  • In the Share PowerPoint dialog box, double-click the PowerPoint presentation that you want to share. When the content is prepared for presentation and uploaded, the other participants will be able to see your presentation.
  • A bar that reads You are sharing appears at the top of your screen.
  • You can also preview your presentation by clicking preview to see what it’ll look like to the other participant.
  • To stop your sharing, just click on Stop Sharing.


Share Program: When you select a program, you will be prompted the following programs you want to choose. After choosing your intended program, it will begin to share to the other contact.

Whiteboard: You can also share whiteboards with your contacts where you can start writing and drawing, using annotation tools on the left of the window.


Give Control to others

Lync gives you the option to give control of your system to your contact while sharing your desktop, monitor, or a program on your sharing bar.
To give control of your pc

  1. Click the give control on your menu bar.
  2. On the drop down menu, click automatically accepts control requests, to give control to everybody, or click the name of an individual under Attendees.
  3. Confirm that you want to give control by clicking on ok in the Lync Dialog box.
  4. When you want to take control of you system, press CTRL+Alt+Spacebar on your keyboard.

Sending a File

If you need to send a file to someone on your contact list, click on the paper clip icon next to the people option in your conversation window. This will bring up a window , which holds every file inside your computer. Find the allocated file and send it to your intended contact.

 

Share Your Desktop

Share your Desktop: To share your desktop with others, go to your contact in your contact list and double click. After double clicking, you will open a conversation window with the contact. At this window, click on share which will bring down a list of monitors to choose from. Main Monitor is where you interact with the systems main GUI (Graphical User Interface) while your secondary monitor serves as your expansion (files, programs, desktop icons). After accepting, the other recipient will see what you’re doing on your system

To Give Control: To share control of your desktop during your sharing session, go to your conversation window, click the arrow next to the In Control sharing bar, and then under Grant Control To, click the name of the participant. To take control of your desktop from the contact, just click the arrow next to the In Control sharing bar and click Take Back Control.

Add Video: To add video to the sharing, just click on Start Video Call button.

Stop Desktop Sharing: To stop sharing, in the control sharing bar and click stop sharing button